The Charter Project of Mendocino County is proud to announce that 17 candidates from all over the County are running for Charter Commissioner. Voting YES on Measure W in the June 7th presidential primary will create the Charter Commission. You get to vote for 15. The 15 candidates with the most votes will be elected.

Measure W asks the county, "Shall a Charter Commission be elected to propose a Mendocino County Charter?” If approved by the voters, a commission of elected volunteers will draft a county charter to be affirmed by the voters in a future election.


A charter is like a constitution, but for a county. California is a “home-rule” state, which means it affords cities and counties the opportunity to increase their independence with a home-rule charter. If approved, Mendocino will become the 15th Charter County in California.

The following are the dedicated volunteers that would like to redesign our county government structure to empower the citizens, protect our rights, increase Democracy, and lift the county governance out of a quagmire of paralysis.

Ali Boecker Fort Bragg
Mike Burgess Willits
Els Cooperrider Ukiah
Govinda Dalton Calpella
Jed Davis Potter Valley
Norman de Vall Elk
Lynda McClure Boonville
Doug McKenty Elk
Ellen Rosser Point Arena
Michael St. John Mendocino
Steve Scalmanini Ukiah
David Sowder Point Arena
Robin Sunbeam Ukiah
Jim Tarbell Caspar
Agnes Woolsey Mendocino
Keith Wyner Fort Bragg
Mary Zellachild Willits

You can read more about them on our "Meet the Candidates" pages: